XplornetSUCKS  

Go Back   XplornetSUCKS > If your computer seems to be broke? Fix it.
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-08-2009, 02:11 PM
bongo8 bongo8 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 5
Default xplornet says i have to many ports open

Hi i was just wondering if anyone can help me with a problem. My computer has win xp sp3 and everything works fine but sometimes i get connection timed out. i called xplornet and they said it was my computer. They said it was opening to many ports. When i talked to them they said i had over 2000 ports open. i scannned my computer for viruses and spyware and maleware and found nothing. So they said as long as i am using that many ports i will have problems. Does anyone know what is causing this.

Thanks for you help
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-08-2009, 02:45 PM
xplornetsuck xplornetsuck is offline
....Offline..Moderator....
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 903
Default

Sounds to me like you are being fed a line.

You can run MalWareBytes, to scan for bugs. It's free and small enough to download.
http://download.cnet.com/Malwarebyte...dlPid=10896905
Install, then update and scan, either quick scan or full system.

But do you have a Firewall running? Run one software firewall only. Windows firewall is incoming only.

Comodo
http://personalfirewall.comodo.com/d..._firewall.html

ZoneAlarm
http://download.cnet.com/ZoneAlarm/3...=dl&tag=button

Comodo does bug you a bit more with alerts than ZoneAlarm.

A router has an incoming hardware firewall, but a software firewall blocks programs from listening to the Internet or doing small communications to home base.



Connection timing out can be due to slow Satellite speeds(Lag and primetime) or if you visit webpages that have many links(sources) to be able to load the whole page(timing out from lag).

Do a speed test.
http://www.testmy.net/speedtest/download_speedtest.php
To determine if you are slow all the time, via a misaligned dish. OR is your timing out between 5pm to about 10pm(primetime)?
Testing times of abouts 7am and 7pm(primetime).

Torrents can also cause many connections to be open at once.


You can also ask phone support to have them look at your dish numbers to determine if your dish is properly aligned(signal strength).

Last edited by xplornetsuck : 12-08-2009 at 03:02 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-08-2009, 04:31 PM
bongo8 bongo8 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 5
Default

Thanks for your help. I did a malwarebyte scan and it found nothing and the only firewall i have is windows firewall. I do use torrents alot. All the software that i use is telling me that im not connectable. xplornet also told me my network adapter might have been installed wrong so i uninstalled and reinstalled and i still have the same problem. i even updated the drivers. Any other advise would be appreciated and i will try the speed test.

thanks again
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-08-2009, 09:15 PM
xplornetsuck xplornetsuck is offline
....Offline..Moderator....
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 903
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bongo8 View Post
Thanks for your help. I did a malwarebyte scan and it found nothing and the only firewall i have is windows firewall. I do use torrents alot. All the software that i use is telling me that im not connectable. xplornet also told me my network adapter might have been installed wrong so i uninstalled and reinstalled and i still have the same problem. i even updated the drivers. Any other advise would be appreciated and i will try the speed test.

thanks again
Oh with Xplornet combining some IP ranges to all it's service offerings, is your satellite service Telesat or Hughesnet KA(HN9000) or wireless?


Xplornet blocks stuff at the servers, so a test like "shields up" from http://www.grc.com/default.htm , would show as ports in a position that is not set on your machine(ports showing open that are actually closed on your machine). Due to the fact that the pings did not hit your machine, as would show in the logs of your own firewall.

Network adapter installed wrong? The driver does sometimes get corrupted, but then usually you can't get online. Or your speed is dead slow.


And support may be just giving random causes for slowness that could be just Xplornet's problem. Some ISP's do play the blame game, instead of admitting system problems.

Last edited by xplornetsuck : 12-09-2009 at 04:56 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-09-2009, 11:26 AM
Auric Auric is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 51
Default

Odds are you are just being strung along so that Xploitnet can do everything possible NOT to help you :P
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-09-2009, 11:43 AM
Brad R Brad R is offline
Linux Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Ontario
Posts: 607
Default

This may be a new line of B.S. from Xplornet....BUT:

Try running your computer will all torrents disabled. Don't even run the bittorrent software, whatever you're using. Torrent software can open up a lot of ports, especially those programs -- most of them -- whose default is to allow torrent uploads as well as downloads. Your Windows firewall probably won't help, because the software running on your computer will open ports as it needs them.

Unfortunately I don't know the Windows command to find out how many ports are open on your PC. There may be a firewall option to absolutely prevent programs from opening ports, but I don't know that either. (I don't use Windows.) Perhaps someone else can help?
__________________
4G Fixed Wireless Formerly Echostar 17 "Jupiter"; Rogers Rocket Hub; Everus 3.5 GHz Wireless; Telesat Kazam plan; HughesNet Ku.
A computer without Windows is like a chocolate cake without mustard. http://www.goodbyemicrosoft.net
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-09-2009, 03:49 PM
x_savvy x_savvy is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 11
Default

Use the command "netstat -an"
That will work on windows, shows all open ports and what IP they are connecting to.
Most routers are only capable of 200 simultaneous ports before they just 'crap out' :P

The canopy modules I think have a max of 2000, but will likely 'crap out' at 200...

If you set your torrent clients to have maximum simultaneous connections of something like 150 ports you should be ok... by default I think browsers will do 25 ports, but you can change that with the right tools... but use them at your own risk, where it patches the TCP/IP DLL.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-09-2009, 05:23 PM
bongo8 bongo8 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 5
Default

i have utorrent set at 130 connections and this is the netstat -an
i had utorrent running when i did this

Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
(C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.


D:\Documents and Settings\Computer>netstat -an

Active Connections

Proto Local Address Foreign Address State
TCP 0.0.0.0:135 0.0.0.0:0 LISTENING
TCP 0.0.0.0:445 0.0.0.0:0 LISTENING
TCP 0.0.0.0:1164 0.0.0.0:0 LISTENING
TCP 0.0.0.0:56860 0.0.0.0:0 LISTENING
TCP 127.0.0.1:1030 0.0.0.0:0 LISTENING
TCP 127.0.0.1:4085 127.0.0.1:4086 ESTABLISHED
TCP 127.0.0.1:4086 127.0.0.1:4085 ESTABLISHED
TCP 127.0.0.1:4107 127.0.0.1:4108 ESTABLISHED
TCP 127.0.0.1:4108 127.0.0.1:4107 ESTABLISHED
TCP 127.0.0.1:5354 0.0.0.0:0 LISTENING
TCP 127.0.0.1:10110 0.0.0.0:0 LISTENING
TCP 127.0.0.1:27015 0.0.0.0:0 LISTENING
TCP 169.254.1.2:139 0.0.0.0:0 LISTENING
TCP 169.254.1.2:1173 213.155.20.16:4242 ESTABLISHED
TCP 169.254.1.2:1184 71.96.123.9:24779 ESTABLISHED
TCP 169.254.1.2:1223 65.35.30.70:5005 ESTABLISHED
TCP 169.254.1.2:1524 96.232.167.26:32611 ESTABLISHED
TCP 169.254.1.2:3288 70.9.143.27:26010 ESTABLISHED
TCP 169.254.1.2:3563 83.205.131.38:6346 ESTABLISHED
TCP 169.254.1.2:3801 24.212.93.54:6346 ESTABLISHED
TCP 169.254.1.2:3914 69.108.119.57:45653 TIME_WAIT
TCP 169.254.1.2:3917 85.222.223.160:41957 ESTABLISHED
TCP 169.254.1.2:3930 213.7.59.60:31817 ESTABLISHED
TCP 169.254.1.2:3951 70.49.31.21:40714 ESTABLISHED
TCP 169.254.1.2:3982 95.209.190.119:9034 ESTABLISHED
TCP 169.254.1.2:4129 93.125.166.76:35344 TIME_WAIT
TCP 169.254.1.2:4197 68.68.35.179:55196 ESTABLISHED
TCP 169.254.1.2:4199 61.85.138.137:13111 ESTABLISHED
TCP 169.254.1.2:4203 84.114.211.73:28783 ESTABLISHED
TCP 169.254.1.2:4206 69.172.80.139:46683 ESTABLISHED
TCP 169.254.1.2:4207 69.172.118.148:29686 ESTABLISHED
TCP 169.254.1.2:4208 69.159.85.12:29868 ESTABLISHED
TCP 169.254.1.2:4209 69.178.99.54:64391 ESTABLISHED
TCP 169.254.1.2:4210 69.158.31.22:56390 ESTABLISHED
TCP 169.254.1.2:4213 84.239.172.190:23306 ESTABLISHED
TCP 169.254.1.2:4216 24.171.239.185:50101 ESTABLISHED
TCP 169.254.1.2:4218 69.108.165.132:47168 ESTABLISHED
TCP 169.254.1.2:4219 69.140.104.253:47846 ESTABLISHED
TCP 169.254.1.2:4221 220.239.69.27:24359 ESTABLISHED
TCP 169.254.1.2:4231 69.86.203.144:50200 ESTABLISHED
TCP 169.254.1.2:4232 69.255.100.88:56691 ESTABLISHED
TCP 169.254.1.2:4246 70.30.4.119:64732 ESTABLISHED
TCP 169.254.1.2:4255 69.196.138.139:22805 ESTABLISHED
TCP 169.254.1.2:4256 69.204.56.28:63299 ESTABLISHED
TCP 169.254.1.2:4278 69.143.240.25:63660 ESTABLISHED
TCP 169.254.1.2:4280 69.209.221.51:54639 ESTABLISHED
TCP 169.254.1.2:4307 58.182.33.56:64676 TIME_WAIT
TCP 169.254.1.2:4309 69.234.40.184:43037 ESTABLISHED
TCP 169.254.1.2:4311 69.205.94.219:39987 ESTABLISHED
TCP 169.254.1.2:4314 94.192.13.174:54480 ESTABLISHED
TCP 169.254.1.2:4321 94.170.119.26:26931 ESTABLISHED
TCP 169.254.1.2:4324 69.242.183.14:47209 ESTABLISHED
TCP 169.254.1.2:4327 220.245.99.215:54000 ESTABLISHED
TCP 169.254.1.2:4331 188.126.64.3:80 TIME_WAIT
TCP 169.254.1.2:4333 71.7.172.81:3421 ESTABLISHED
TCP 169.254.1.2:4343 69.108.119.57:45653 ESTABLISHED
TCP 169.254.1.2:4351 78.90.80.91:12281 ESTABLISHED
TCP 169.254.1.2:4360 64.233.169.105:80 ESTABLISHED
TCP 169.254.1.2:4361 64.233.169.103:80 ESTABLISHED
TCP 169.254.1.2:4378 79.103.214.233:24315 SYN_SENT
TCP 169.254.1.2:4379 93.81.225.62:24791 SYN_SENT
TCP 169.254.1.2:4380 69.169.154.73:44145 SYN_SENT
TCP 169.254.1.2:4381 88.7.255.11:64154 SYN_SENT
TCP 169.254.1.2:4382 99.255.62.188:11221 SYN_SENT
TCP 169.254.1.2:4383 72.216.25.52:38368 SYN_SENT
TCP 169.254.1.2:4384 78.150.104.95:13031 SYN_SENT
TCP 169.254.1.2:4385 67.225.100.217:54492 SYN_SENT
TCP 169.254.1.2:4386 74.222.110.77:15960 SYN_SENT
UDP 0.0.0.0:445 *:*
UDP 0.0.0.0:500 *:*
UDP 0.0.0.0:1025 *:*
UDP 0.0.0.0:1164 *:*
UDP 0.0.0.0:4500 *:*
UDP 0.0.0.0:6771 *:*
UDP 0.0.0.0:49312 *:*
UDP 0.0.0.0:56860 *:*
UDP 127.0.0.1:123 *:*
UDP 127.0.0.1:1900 *:*
UDP 169.254.1.2:123 *:*
UDP 169.254.1.2:137 *:*
UDP 169.254.1.2:138 *:*
UDP 169.254.1.2:1900 *:*
UDP 169.254.1.2:5353 *:*
i don't know what any of this means but if you could let me know if something is wrong
i did the netstat when my browser was showing problem loading page

thanks alot for your help
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-09-2009, 09:36 PM
x_savvy x_savvy is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 11
Default

Are you running through a DLink router per chance?
The results you posted *shouldn't* be causing an issue.

I'll try to find the source of the DLink router firmware to work better with the canopy modules... will update post in a few.

EDIT: SO I think I had this backwards... I think xplornet is updating the canopy firmware............ so god only knows when that will happen.

Last edited by x_savvy : 12-09-2009 at 09:45 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-10-2009, 02:38 PM
bongo8 bongo8 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 5
Default

i don't have a router
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.