XplornetSUCKS  

Go Back   XplornetSUCKS > Satellite Forum (Telesat Anik F2/F3. Hughesnet Spaceway3 KA. KU.) * (older satellites) *
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 11-24-2007, 06:25 AM
Linux Member

Arrow Satellite FAQ: Using a Router

(Although I know a little about Internet protocols, I am not a router expert. And there are hundreds of different home and small office routers, all different. I'm going to put some general information about routers here, and then describe how I have configured my particular unit. I encourage others who have successfully used routers with Xplornet to add their own posts, describing their configuration and any problems/fixes they have encountered. - Brad)

If you want to share your Xplornet connection among several computers in the same house (or office), you have two alternatives. 1. Enable "Internet Connection Sharing" on the computer which is plugged into the Xplornet modem, and leave that computer switched on. 2. Use a "router." This FAQ is about option #2.

A router is a small box that connects between your Xplornet modem and your computer(s). Typically it will have jacks for four computers; sometimes more. Do not confuse a router with a similar-looking Ethernet "switch" or "hub". To share your Xplornet connection, you need a router. (If you're using the HughesNet service sold by Xplornet, with the HN7000/7700 modem, you can use a switch or hub. These modems contain their own routing capability.)

Code:
[Computer #1]--------|          |
[Computer #2]--------|  router  |
[Computer #3]--------|LAN    WAN|--------[Xplornet modem]
    etc.     --------|__________|
Your computers connect to the "LAN" (Local Area Network) side of the router. The "WAN" connection is to the "Wide Area Network", which means the whole wide world (via your Xplornet modem). If you have a wireless router, any computers in your home which use a wireless connection are also part of the "Local" network.