XplornetSUCKS  

Go Back   XplornetSUCKS > Main Category > Xplornet Wireless Tower Forum (Motorola equipment) * (old network) *
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-20-2013, 02:21 PM
Xenonsolex Xenonsolex is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 3
Default lost connection xbox 360

I live in newbrunswick and have always played games online with my xbox until 3-4 months ago, i can still steam video but cannot stay in a chat party on the xbox.The xbox has been replaced and my cables, outside box and tried port forwarding.They tell me i have errors on my system but do not know why.I talk to level 3 techs almost everyday for a month now. When they changed my outside box it actually got worse.Example I can play minecraft on my computer multiplayer, but not on my xbox.I believe it may be a port problem but they say no. The only thing left is to try the 4g wireless but I have a grandfather package at the moment and to upgrade I cannot switch back if it does not work, plus the new caps and such which i do not have now.I do have static ip also. Any idea would help thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-20-2013, 06:34 PM
buttitchi buttitchi is offline
offline "Global Moderator" Retired
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 213
Default

I wonder if its related to this post:

http://www.xplornetsucks.com/forumss...ead.php?t=1451
The user can't do windows updates until after midnight as whatever throttles come off.

Not sure if Xplornet is using Sandvine. If they are I have to assume its Sandvine who controls the throttle protocols from suggestions by Xplornet. Sandvine is nasty when it comes to alternate methods of using the Internet. Games, P2P, system updates that are not plain and not encrypted. Comcast in the U.S. was hacking peoples P2P to stop file transfers a few years back. No people from the company were ever arrested, prosecuted and jailed for their crime.

Xbox live ports:
http://support.xbox.com/en-US/xbox-l...used-xbox-live

Port Forward and guides for various routers:
http://portforward.com/english/routers/port_forwarding/



This page at the EFF has some JAVA based tests:
https://www.eff.org/testyourisp
Update Java first as it had some more security issues and a Firefox browser won't let it launch without user approval. Edit: Yes pain in the ass to get Java to launch at this posting time.
This one I've used before and it gives you a long list of things in your connection to them. No software install needed:
http://netalyzr.icsi.berkeley.edu/


Hopefully this is not one of those "hey your connection went to shit? Well how about upgrading and it will be better, maybe, hopefully, and enjoy the new contract." The old Motorola hardware will exist until Xplornet says otherwise.


This is some information to contact the CRTC to deal with a ISP's traffic mis-management policies.
http://www.crtc.gc.ca/eng/archive/2011/2011-609.htm
__________________
Hi Diddly Ho, Good Neighborino

Last edited by buttitchi : 01-20-2013 at 07:29 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-20-2013, 07:23 PM
buttitchi buttitchi is offline
offline "Global Moderator" Retired
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 213
Default

Maybe more users are having this problem....

Recent posting:
http://www.bloomingtoninternetservic...et-sucks-song/
Complaint about MSM getting cut off.
The video 'Angry Xplornet sucks song'. So unless you have FlashBlock, there is a youtube video on page that will start loading.
Plus a couple of comment posts about having issues too on games and whatever.

A few Michael Geist posts: search on Xplornet:
http://www.michaelgeist.ca/index.php...search&Itemid=
Xplornet is a bit pissed off at him too.... Seems they objected to him commenting on a VOIP issue.

Then there was that article.
http://www2.macleans.ca/2011/07/18/x...to-write-this/
Quote:
File this one under “Streisand Effect.” It’s a story I wouldn’t be writing if I hadn’t been warned not to.

Let’s start with some background: in Canada, we supposedly have Net Neutrality. That means your Internet service provider can’t mess around with the speeds of your connection based on which sites or apps you use. Yet ISPs in Canada still mess with the speed of our connections based on which sites or apps we use. How is this possible? Two reasons:

Because there are exceptions to the CRTC’s Net Neutrality regulations (if ISPs say they have to slow you down in order to manage “network congestion,” they can).
Net Neutrality rules are only enforced after they are broken, only if consumers complain, and only if the CRTC bothers to investigate and act.
The Commissioner for Complaints for Telecommunications Services
http://www.ccts-cprst.ca/en/
__________________
Hi Diddly Ho, Good Neighborino

Last edited by buttitchi : 01-20-2013 at 08:04 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-21-2013, 05:14 PM
Xenonsolex Xenonsolex is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 3
Default

I have tried off hours with the same result and I bought port forwading software with no result and i know what ports have to work but they tell me they should be working and i cannot as of yet figure out how to test them for myself.The level 3 tech also told me by this summer they should be shuting down the old wireless system, and forcing you to the new wireless with the cap and no gaurantee on servie or actual speeds.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-21-2013, 05:25 PM
buttitchi buttitchi is offline
offline "Global Moderator" Retired
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 213
Default

I guess you have directly hooked up the xbox to the xplornet unit(not use your router) and tried.

Xbox issues are fun. Not sure if Xbox had some test protocol for seeing NAT and connection issues.

I suppose you have some way to confirm that your static IP is truly static and Xplornet didn't accidentally deactivate it. I've read few posts in other places where bridged cable combo modem/router accidentally go back to NATtted(router on again).

If you have a static IP, someone you know should be able to try and connect to you via your IP address. Port probe like attempt. They type in your IP address into their browser and it should bring up your router login page if it is open to external IP login attempts.

Try the ShieldsUp test. Tells if you have open ports. Your software firewall should alert you to the probe from the GRC site of a user specified port.
https://www.grc.com/default.htm
__________________
Hi Diddly Ho, Good Neighborino

Last edited by buttitchi : 01-21-2013 at 05:33 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-22-2013, 05:31 PM
Xenonsolex Xenonsolex is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 3
Default

I have tried the xbox on dynamic and static ip same result all the xbox ports come back as stealth, and have tried it without the router hooked up. So they tell me that maybe someone elses frequency is bouncing off my unit and messing it up, that may be the errors they see on my system, but no way to fix.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.