XplornetSUCKS  

Go Back   XplornetSUCKS > ROGERS Rocket HUB USER Discussion
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-21-2012, 07:48 AM
dave_ca dave_ca is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 301
Default Rogers Network - Backup Internet

Hello

I thaught I would start my own thread to chronicle my expierience with Rogers Wireless product. First my setup:

I work as the IT contact for a company. I wanted to address the need for backup internet so required services will function in case we have an outage of our primary provider. We currently use Dialup as our backup at many locations, however this was no longer an option as we moved to a VOIP solution.

So my basic setup is as follows:

- 10meg Cable Connection (business class)
- Zyxel USG20/USG20W or USG50W (depending on the locations node - or computer/device - count)
- Huawei E270 HSPA device (device selection was limited by support in USG firmware)
- Rogers Sim card

Setup: Basicly I am using 3g as a passive failover option. I have a Trunk setup in a way that the 3g will only be used if the primary conncetion fails. We do not want VOIP traffic across the 3g as its performance is not suffecient enough for the volume we see (based on testing) so I have a policy route configured to exclude SIP and RTP traffic over the 3g Link

Reliability - None have been deployed in the field only on my desk so far. So in this one location it has been gold, near perfect as I have excellent cell reception from Rogers here - almost 100% signal

Speed - The E270 device is an old device. I am getting no where near what Rogers can offer for speed (up to 7.2 Mbps download/ up to 1.46 Mbps upload is the rating on the Huawei) Saying that however, they are suffecient to run the VPN tunnel and a few other services required to keep the business going.

My real life speeds are:
http://www.speedtest.net/result/2131650392.png

:::.. Combined Test Results ..:::
Download Connection:: 973 Kbps or 1 Mbps
Download Test Size:: 1.1 MB or 1126 kB or 1153434 bytes
Download Speed:: 122 kB/s
Upload Connection:: 438 Kbps or 0.4 Mbps
Upload Test Size:: 265 kB or 265 kB or 271755 bytes
Upload Speed:: 55 kB/s
Tested At:: http://TestMy.net version:12
Test Time:: 2012-08-21 08:37:44 Local Time
Validation:: http://testmy.net/db/3zyGN2i.ohEUWiL
User Agent:: Mozilla/5.0 (compatible; MSIE 9.0; Windows NT 6.1; WOW64; Trident/5.0)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-21-2012, 07:19 PM
Brad R Brad R is offline
Linux Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Ontario
Posts: 606
Default

For what it's worth, I'm running the Rogers hub, and I don't think I've ever seen more than about 2 Mbps of the "up to 7.2 Mbps" we're supposed to have. So the E270 may not be your bottleneck.

Thanks for sharing the info about your connection. We're still using dialup as our backup. (We don't use VoIP.)
__________________
4G Fixed Wireless Formerly Echostar 17 "Jupiter"; Rogers Rocket Hub; Everus 3.5 GHz Wireless; Telesat Kazam plan; HughesNet Ku.
A computer without Windows is like a chocolate cake without mustard. http://www.goodbyemicrosoft.net
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-31-2012, 02:39 PM
dave_ca dave_ca is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 301
Default

Had our first Cable internet failure (Motorolla modem went to standby mode some how) The backup 3g worked great. It allowed voip traffic with no downtime for the location at all. Very pleased. I only wish I could get cell signal at home, I would likely switch to HSPA+ internet.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.