XplornetSUCKS  

Go Back   XplornetSUCKS > Satellite Forum (Telesat Anik F2/F3. Hughesnet Spaceway3 KA. KU.) * (older satellites) *
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-13-2012, 08:19 AM
Brad R Brad R is offline
Linux Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Ontario
Posts: 606
Default Upgrade to 4G satellite, or else

Welcome back Xplornetsucks forum!

Did anyone else just receive a 4G satellite "upgrade" letter from Xplornet? I haven't called to check, but I'm assuming that I received this because I'm still on the books as a K-band (Telesat) customer -- I still have my satellite gear, on vacation standby, just in case.

The letter basically says that

Quote:
we are phasing out the platform that currently supplies your Internet service. We are writing today to let you know that to continue as an Xplornet customer, you must transition to our new 4G satellite before July 15th, 2012.
...with, of course, a new 3-year contract. I wonder, is Telesat retiring the Anik F2 satellite, or will it be possible to get Telesat service through a different provider? (An academic question to me -- I'm on terrestrial wireless now.)
__________________
4G Fixed Wireless Formerly Echostar 17 "Jupiter"; Rogers Rocket Hub; Everus 3.5 GHz Wireless; Telesat Kazam plan; HughesNet Ku.
A computer without Windows is like a chocolate cake without mustard. http://www.goodbyemicrosoft.net
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-13-2012, 01:55 PM
buttitchi buttitchi is offline
offline "Global Moderator" Retired
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 212
Default

That notice would be a great thing for people to bring up with the
http://www.ccts-cprst.ca/ Commissioner for Complaints for Telecommunications Services (CCTS)
https://www.ccts-cprst.ca/en/complaints/complaint-form

The background for the possible reason to force people(is it being forced, or is there hidden fine print of it being optional?) to the ViaSat one would be due to the mid section of North America not having coverage via the ViaSat one(beam$ are aimed at higher rural population center$).
***The Anik F2 is going to have 'enhanced beams' for the uncovered areas, which is a max download speed of 5Mbps(as opposed to ViaSat-1 at 12Mbps)*** and a new modem for the higher throughput. But in order for the mid-section to be covered at those higher speeds, is Telesat needs to offload customers from the Anik F2 onto the ViaSat one, to free up backhaul capacity.
Plus freeing up Anik F2 backhaul capacity would give a bit more bandwidth to the far north of Canada.

ViaSat1 coverage map(U.S.):
http://tech.fortune.cnn.com/2011/10/...-dish-network/
-
http://satstar.net/satellites/via1.html

More detailed U.S. map: http://www.wildbluetools.com/content...h-mid-low.html

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/ViaSat-1
"The viaSat-1 satellite will be positioned at 115.1 degrees West longitude, with 72 Ka-band spot beams; 63 over the U.S. (Eastern and Western states, Alaska and Hawaii), and nine over Canada."

Article on WildBlue from stopthecap:
http://stopthecap.com/2012/01/24/sat...witch-upgrade/
People are not happy about the still tiny bandwidth caps, that go along with the 12Mbps download speeds.

'Excede' is the name of packages on ViaSat 1 for WildBlue/ViaSat.

WildBlue/ViaSat is set to enforce caps on the ViaSat 1 in July, as for now it is apparently wide open for bandwidth abuse/use.
https://secure.dslreports.com/forum/...arting-in-July


SaskTel Satellite Internet pricing for business(a resale of Xplornet service, Which is a resale of ViaSat/Hughesnet/telesat companies Satellite Internet Service).
http://www.sasktel.com/business/prom...t-presale.html
PDF details:
http://communityforums.sasktel.com/f...net_4G_HTS.pdf

Last edited by buttitchi : 05-13-2012 at 04:15 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-28-2012, 08:54 AM
Brad R Brad R is offline
Linux Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Ontario
Posts: 606
Default

My mistake -- I just called Xplornet, and it's not our Ka satellite service that's being terminated, it's our Everus fixed wireless service.

So Telesat Ka users can breathe a sigh of relief. I'll continue this thread over in the fixed wireless section.


moderator edit: Link to post in wireless section http://www.xplornetsucks.com/forumss...=8425#post8425
__________________
4G Fixed Wireless Formerly Echostar 17 "Jupiter"; Rogers Rocket Hub; Everus 3.5 GHz Wireless; Telesat Kazam plan; HughesNet Ku.
A computer without Windows is like a chocolate cake without mustard. http://www.goodbyemicrosoft.net

Last edited by buttitchi : 05-28-2012 at 01:19 PM. Reason: adding link to wireless post mentioned
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-28-2012, 01:39 PM
buttitchi buttitchi is offline
offline "Global Moderator" Retired
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 212
Default

With all the internet hardware platforms that Xplornet is using or leasing, all it takes is a customer getting the wrong or not specific enough email notice and turmoil happens. But you do have two systems on file(1 active, 1 standby), so lots more fun.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.