XplornetSUCKS  

Go Back   XplornetSUCKS > ROGERS Rocket HUB USER Discussion
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 07-31-2012, 06:25 PM
dave_ca dave_ca is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 301
Default

Maybe the tower is having an issue ? Seems strange to have a drop in signal like that.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 07-31-2012, 07:01 PM
Brad R Brad R is offline
Linux Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Ontario
Posts: 606
Default

After it didn't straighten itself out for a few hours, I called Rogers tech support. The chap I spoke to said I had enough signal strength for good speeds. He finally walked me through switching the unit to a new APN, and that restored our speeds immediately. Server issues on their side, I guess.
__________________
4G Fixed Wireless Formerly Echostar 17 "Jupiter"; Rogers Rocket Hub; Everus 3.5 GHz Wireless; Telesat Kazam plan; HughesNet Ku.
A computer without Windows is like a chocolate cake without mustard. http://www.goodbyemicrosoft.net
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 08-07-2012, 09:50 PM
Brad R Brad R is offline
Linux Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Ontario
Posts: 606
Default

Well, tomorrow is the end of our 15-day trial period. So far the service has been good enough, so I think we're going to keep the hub for the 2-year contract. There haven't been any particular issues this last week...just the usual prime-time slowdown, which I expect.
__________________
4G Fixed Wireless Formerly Echostar 17 "Jupiter"; Rogers Rocket Hub; Everus 3.5 GHz Wireless; Telesat Kazam plan; HughesNet Ku.
A computer without Windows is like a chocolate cake without mustard. http://www.goodbyemicrosoft.net
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 08-17-2012, 03:07 PM
dave_ca dave_ca is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 301
Default

I went ahead and ordered 5 Rogers Sim cards. I am using them in Huawei E270 USB modems attached to Zyxel USG20's. It works well for what it is - the card is an older Gen device, so it maxes out at 7.2MbpsTheoretical - My speed test show 800Kbps to 1.5Mbps download and around 256Kbps upload. 1.5Mbps is more then suffecient as a backup internet source for our purposes.

My one test device I have - the Huawei E372 easily reached 5Mbps down and 2-3Mbps up. The network itself is quick. Thank you Brad for your feedback.

Just one thing to note - if you want an external accessible IP (We need it for some services to work) there is a charge for $12.95
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 08-18-2012, 04:18 PM
Brad R Brad R is offline
Linux Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Ontario
Posts: 606
Default

I forgot to mention a support call I had last week. One morning our service got slow. Really slow, like 50 Kbps. It wasn't prime time, so I called tech support. He agreed that it shouldn't be that slow, so he patiently asked me to unplug the modem power, wait ten seconds, and plug the modem in again.

Well, you could probably hear me blush: I had forgotten to try that. And sure enough, that fixed the speed problem. I guess when the modem re-registers for the network it gets assigned a different slot or something (I really don't know much about cellular protocols). The support rep was really nice about it.

Anyhow, that's worth remembering if you ever have problems.
__________________
4G Fixed Wireless Formerly Echostar 17 "Jupiter"; Rogers Rocket Hub; Everus 3.5 GHz Wireless; Telesat Kazam plan; HughesNet Ku.
A computer without Windows is like a chocolate cake without mustard. http://www.goodbyemicrosoft.net
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.