XplornetSUCKS  

Go Back   XplornetSUCKS > Xplornet LTE network * (Newest Network) *
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-20-2014, 08:59 PM
xplornetFiveMEG xplornetFiveMEG is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 56
Default Xplornet LTE Packages/Pricing

I was cruising the webs, about as quickly as the government gives money to actual worthy internet projects, and i happened across the website of a Xplornet re seller in NB, and i almost fell out of my seat, These people must really have lost it. The link is: http://willib.ca/wireless/

What kind of company offers 25mbps, but only 100GB a month?

I am no stranger to their tricks, but i know Xplornet was the kind of company that makes things look good on paper, and then forgets the lube when they show up at your house. But they seem to have gotten past that stage. When i hear 25mbp/s i expect 5mbp/s upload speed as well, not 1mbp/s, and at least 250GB monthly cap, C'mon, you have got to be kidding me.

On a side note, I'm finishing my final complaint submission for the BBB and the CRTC, Xplornet is violating the CRTC ruling that specifically states that an ISP must not tamper with Time Sensitive Traffic to the point that it becomes unusable. Time sensitive traffic is simply reffered by the CRTC as data that must only have minimal delay over the network, which Xplornet is blatently ignoring.

I'm also risking another ISP (with whom i had problems with before, due to oversubscription) But they have a new Licensed frequency, and i saw them attach some really nice Dragonwave Backhaul links to the tower in my area, so i'm willing to risk another ISP again,
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-20-2014, 10:20 PM
buttitchi buttitchi is offline
offline "Global Moderator" Retired
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 213
Default

One of these days Xplornet will hire some new management people who realize that Xplornet is not Cable. Is not DSL. Is not fiber. Is not cellular(also with overpriced data, but fast).


LTE seems to be the best Xplornet has so far offered, but quit pushing those 25Mbps speeds. Media awhile back was promoting an eventual 100Mbps http://www.satellitetoday.com/teleco...eed-using-hts/ . 1Mbps upload, depending on what is using the 25Mbps(multiple computers, which is Xplornets death knell with the 'connected home'), will be noticed as the ping increases with that small upload trying to keep up confirming the downloads/streams.
4.3Mbps per HD stream for one computer. There are households who have 3-4 computers streaming(doable with higher speed packages) and a 100GB per month won't cut it anyways.
And so many packages and platforms. Nice having 'limited state' and 'no limited state, but charged by each GB over'.


Taxpayer subsidies and some private equity firm keeps Xplornet alive.
Xplornet is 10 years old. Back then, the media was abuzz with the estimated millions of users just for the new Anik F2 internet satellite(ended up with around 150,000 North American users, because 500Kbps was not fast enough to offer, so lets cut the number of users, by increasing speed offered). currently ~1.4 Million in North America. As a side business, Xplornet quickly bought into the ugly Motorola wireless tower system, with the flaw of needing new hardware, instead of a firmware upgrade, to get more speed.


Complaints keep brewing over the continuing throttles for things like OS updates(security and patches). There's time sensitive and there's "why does a 1GB update take 3 days?", which will timeout long before then.

The best for satellite(newer) complaints are in the winter, as another storm system rolls over the Newfoundland base station and users get to hear 'the weather message' when they call in. 9 different gateways currently in use depending on satellite.

Glanced across a posting that Xplornet apparently had to outsource some of their support department, due to the current in-house one not being able to keep staffed to deal with all the calls in a timely manner. The terms were 'rude' and 'what the hell?'. Xplornet must be quite tired of repeating "we are busy training new workers, so you won't have to wait an hour on hold". For like at least a couple of years now.


Hopefully Xplornet fixes their billing system one of these years, so people quit having their bank accounts robbed and then refunded. NSF fines from your bank and or company is Xplornets fault. Make Xplornet pay the fees, via court if necessary(with: plus court costs, plus time). That credit rating being damaged by automated computer incompetence is pure murder. If Xplornet can't auto debit nicely, go to your bank and block the payments(thats your Right), and tell Xplornet, they will be getting a monthly check in the mail, after the bill arrives.
https://www.ccts-cprst.ca/


Rogers is bad and so is Bell, but they tend to screw you on billing. Not constantly glossing over connectivity problems, like Xplornet. Seen some ISP's even downgrading customers speed package, due to long term hardware/backbone problems. A quick solution to stop the complaint calls.
http://testmy.net/
__________________
Hi Diddly Ho, Good Neighborino

Last edited by buttitchi : 11-21-2014 at 12:08 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-21-2014, 07:37 AM
markl markl is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 60
Default

"Complaints keep brewing over the continuing throttles for things like OS updates(security and patches). There's time sensitive and there's "why does a 1GB update take 3 days?", which will timeout long before then."

Im test driving the 5 meg package in Ontario and download PDF's from our server base Elearn system. These are also considered by the system as non time sensitive and the FAP is applied to them as well.

Had to make the call to tech support and after 30 mins of discussion he said that ANYTHING the system considers BAD??? will be subject to traffic control.

Bottom line if the system is to used for surfing and video streaming (if it working properly) your OK. Anything else is crap shoot!

The impression i got is they really don't have a clue at the lower levels what get FAP'd.

On a funny note the techy said to do my school work after 2AM should be good then WTF.

Believe this will be a short test drive!!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-22-2014, 09:39 PM
xplornetFiveMEG xplornetFiveMEG is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 56
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by markl View Post
"Complaints keep brewing over the continuing throttles for things like OS updates(security and patches). There's time sensitive and there's "why does a 1GB update take 3 days?", which will timeout long before then."

Im test driving the 5 meg package in Ontario and download PDF's from our server base Elearn system. These are also considered by the system as non time sensitive and the FAP is applied to them as well.

Had to make the call to tech support and after 30 mins of discussion he said that ANYTHING the system considers BAD??? will be subject to traffic control.

Bottom line if the system is to used for surfing and video streaming (if it working properly) your OK. Anything else is crap shoot!

The impression i got is they really don't have a clue at the lower levels what get FAP'd.

On a funny note the techy said to do my school work after 2AM should be good then WTF.

Believe this will be a short test drive!!
Yes, If you have any other option at all, chances are it will be better than anything Xplornet can ever offer you. Normally the trial period is the high point of the service, being completely clear of problems, but soon appearing once your trial period has ended. Get out if you can.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-24-2014, 12:37 AM
tinytim tinytim is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 2
Default It is far worse than you think... read this before you submit to CRTC

Lets just stay I'm a whistle blower... you have no idea of the trickery... but I'm giving you a crash course... 3 major things:

1) all customer traffic is prioritized below their traffic... OK sounds reasonable right? But not if you include their Avaya SIP gateways they use internally and for customer care. This has a profound impact on your potential up and down stream... more so UP... To really anger the mass I will share that they use this Avaya platform for customer care for all of Canada... so dear say much useable bandwidth is eaten by their overhead this is potential bandwidth that they have promised you the customer at time of signing. Now lets talk about overhead.

2) Overhead (boys this is really going to piss you all off) There is the normal traffic jabber back and forth on any communications system. Xplorenet does an inordinate amount of it. Let me pull up a log...

Outroute ID 2
Total User Data Packets 348201
Total Control Packets 556539
Downlink State Code 0.0.0

There now.... See the above total user data packets? and below it the control packets?

They get added together on your monthly usage. So your not only getting stung with poor quality of service, you also get defrauded on your actual bill. An easy way a home user with one computer can check this is reset your network interface on your billing date and then compare the bill and the actual at the end of that billing date. It's like they have no idea... on that note.... this is the final and really funny part.

3) They really don't have any idea...They don't run their own internal Infrastructure. it's broken up amongst 3rd party suppliers... We (they don't even have the answers of how to fix it... and worse they are well aware that if brought to task they have no way of operating on the income they have been (we'll call it mishandling) taking in. They will at some point have to pay all the customers back. After all it's fraud, and not a small bit of fraud, these folks sign off on their yearly financials to the Canadian TAX service.

To date they have been able to keep the tax level pretty low as they scramble to state that they are building infrastructure for non city Canadians to be connected... Seems odd, They misrepresent their services, Do not deliver the service that they are paid for, (2 Fed Laws) Knowingly overcharging for the services, collecting tax on those services... I think that it was this type of thing that got Serbians - Oxely Act. going in the USA. That's an Act whereas crooks like the C level of Xplornet get to cool their heels in prison for 15 - 20 years for doing exactly what they are doing now.

Have any idea how much shit one would get in if dabbled in the in the 18-29 GHz range with a bird about 35,886k above and got it to square dance? The trick would be not to get caught It is organizations like this that make me want to cover my face and practice blackhattery. But what really does bother me is that the Canadian Government does very little to help us. This isn't the Matrix is it? I'm still in Canada right? Have we turned Communist over the last little bit that I may not have noticed? Well it wouldn't surprise me... it won't be till mid December before I can today's mail downloaded on this service...

Cheers,

tinytim
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-25-2014, 11:14 AM
dotslash dotslash is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 6
Default

Oh dear… First of all, stop speculating. Do you work for Xplornet? Can you tell us how their phone system works? I'm betting at least one of those is a no.
Phone systems such as Avaya, Cisco, Nortel et al are commonly trunked using ISDN lines (completely separate from subscriber or even corporate internet transits). This means the phone system has absolutely zero effect on subscriber systems. That's right! Even if a subscriber backhaul dies, or the corporate internet transit is lost, broken, or otherwise buggered, an ISDN would remain unaffected (power, or some fool cutting the hard line being the exceptions).
The fact that you cannot even distinguish this makes me want to debunk the rest of your post as speculative BS (Which it mostly is anyway).
However, there is some truth to it: 3rd party suppliers, here's how most ISPs work in relation to 3rd party equipment: They buy the equipment, they purchase a maintenance contract on said equipment for a number of reasons; #1 cost. It would cost an absolute arm and a leg to maintain the staff skillset to employ your own hardware team. #2 Availability. That's right, even if you could afford your own team of hardware specialists, where would you find them? In fact let's go so far as to say, this is a practice in place across many technology companies in North America today. It makes good business sense.
Overhead – every network provider has it, they are lying if they tell you they don’t. It is basically SNMP packets that are passed back and forth to provide information for the purposes of alerting and monitoring of nodes. Some manufacturers also publish MIBs which allow you to poll their equipment for proprietary information. If you are so minded, monitor this and make regular comparisons to the usage that your ISP reports on your account. If you find any discrepancies, open a dispute but be prepared to provide cold, hard facts and numbers to back up your claims.
It’s fair to assume in any company that those who pick up the phones are not the most well-informed or technically viable folks from society’s pick. To that end, any “tech advice” you receive from them you should take with a pinch of salt. This is the main source of misinformation within any company, because every agent has their opinion on something – I’m sure you’ve all had your own experiences with this.
As for the rest of your post, well that's as I said, speculative at best. Unless calling yourself a “whistle-blower” is an indication you're an inside man? In any case, enough speculation and let’s get some cold hard facts on the table….

You’re most welcome, TinyTim.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-26-2014, 01:04 AM
tinytim tinytim is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 2
Default thanks a reply to my post

But I'm going to have to state you don't know your stuff when it comes to Telecom, ISDN? I've worked with that crap 15 years ago, T1, DS, same protocol different naming convention. You your correct that demarcation or point to point PRI's were separated from data. But thats many many years ago... almost no one does this any more. I would agree some government lines and major corps still entertain point to point to a real BIX punch down... But they keep them as DRP business continuity planning.

You see in the real world, forgetting about Nortel, Seimens, Aspire, Rockwell and Intacom, well, they simply aren't relevant players. I was making reference to their Avyay soft PBX... Avaya got out of the hard PBX market a very very long time ago. No longer lives in those big rack with multiple crack units keeping it all chilled... They are very small, they are software based, the software is a twist of LINUX. now you still can add on 4U expansion cabinets to hold additional cards but for many customers they adhere to VoIP only. The call are queued in the cloud by Telus, Bell what ever vendor you managed to get the best bandwidth, jitter compliance and toll charges. you see when they can... and they can in all major metros they yank glass to the demark not cooper. The Avaya employs Gateways to tie multiple sites together. CMS can be a little funky with high jitter but for the most part if your running a reason MPLS, Telco clouding your good to go.

But let me enlighten you as to how the phone configuration eats bandwidth. Since it is cost prohibit to terminate DS1, 3 what have you at each site they have oped to use Avaya with it's ViOP to the customer cares phone (most of which are soft phones now) and utilize an Avaya SIP gateway to talk to the other site. This performs function like seeing that there are calls in the cloud and what not. They also use a H. Class compression to send and receive calls. With this technology it was easy to setup home agents for calls etc. And the new system was tremendously expensive, I signed off on one for 5 sites pushing voice through our network at a cost of nearly 3.6m. The ROI on this was the ability to turn down the hundreds and hundreds of point to point voice trunks. 1 DS1 will only multiplex to 24 channels 23 for voice 1 channel for D channel... I'm sure you already know this but for those that don't, a D channel synchronizes the DS1 timing to ensure all the voice data stays in sync, most oped to have a second D channel for redundancy but for that you need atlas 2 DS1's. Getting back to the bandwidth, the Avaya speak to the cloud,and other call centres over a data. Not voice. Think of the old Primus stuff and that was a very poor example of good technology wasted because you can't guarantee the class of service for a home user. So now you have you Avaya up and running and it is virtually segmented for your call centres data connectivity. They all run through a core router at each site. The site I looked after always had 2 core 2 Avaya etc. for redundancy.

In order for the sound quality not to come out like crap, you prioritize VoIP or SIP traffic at the highest priority. Your security access system would be set to 2, CRM system to 3 email would be lowest etc. along those lines. Since the MPLS is simply one big chuck a pure bandwidth the network folks would do they rule takes based on your expected load, or potential usage. I is important to not that there really are not any bandwidth limits for the priority rules. There could be but that would defeat the purpose. So when the Avaya used to trunkout it took the vast portion of bandwidth to hold those calls and play the messages and such as it moved them through queue. Mean while it is a vicious circle because the users CRM connections to the back over are being impacted due to voice taken up all the available bandwidth.

So YES when they use the phone it runs over the same network we use just at a higher priority that puts our bandwidth in a queue status. An NO it is speculation.

And this is my last visit, I tried to inform an audience that is clearly frustrated, and to help alleviated individuals subject matter ignorance for people just like you that I'm replying to. So before you speculate and go on and on. Some of us know our shit, some of us work in the industry. But it was the first line where you irritated me.... you see back in the day I was a ham radio operator... and it's clear you never got past the CB stage...
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-26-2014, 07:08 AM
dotslash dotslash is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 6
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tinytim View Post
But I'm going to have to state you don't know your stuff when it comes to Telecom, ISDN? I've worked with that crap 15 years ago, T1, DS, same protocol different naming convention. You your correct that demarcation or point to point PRI's were separated from data. But thats many many years ago... almost no one does this any more. I would agree some government lines and major corps still entertain point to point to a real BIX punch down... But they keep them as DRP business continuity planning.

You see in the real world, forgetting about Nortel, Seimens, Aspire, Rockwell and Intacom, well, they simply aren't relevant players. I was making reference to their Avyay soft PBX... Avaya got out of the hard PBX market a very very long time ago. No longer lives in those big rack with multiple crack units keeping it all chilled... They are very small, they are software based, the software is a twist of LINUX. now you still can add on 4U expansion cabinets to hold additional cards but for many customers they adhere to VoIP only. The call are queued in the cloud by Telus, Bell what ever vendor you managed to get the best bandwidth, jitter compliance and toll charges. you see when they can... and they can in all major metros they yank glass to the demark not cooper. The Avaya employs Gateways to tie multiple sites together. CMS can be a little funky with high jitter but for the most part if your running a reason MPLS, Telco clouding your good to go.

But let me enlighten you as to how the phone configuration eats bandwidth. Since it is cost prohibit to terminate DS1, 3 what have you at each site they have oped to use Avaya with it's ViOP to the customer cares phone (most of which are soft phones now) and utilize an Avaya SIP gateway to talk to the other site. This performs function like seeing that there are calls in the cloud and what not. They also use a H. Class compression to send and receive calls. With this technology it was easy to setup home agents for calls etc. And the new system was tremendously expensive, I signed off on one for 5 sites pushing voice through our network at a cost of nearly 3.6m. The ROI on this was the ability to turn down the hundreds and hundreds of point to point voice trunks. 1 DS1 will only multiplex to 24 channels 23 for voice 1 channel for D channel... I'm sure you already know this but for those that don't, a D channel synchronizes the DS1 timing to ensure all the voice data stays in sync, most oped to have a second D channel for redundancy but for that you need atlas 2 DS1's. Getting back to the bandwidth, the Avaya speak to the cloud,and other call centres over a data. Not voice. Think of the old Primus stuff and that was a very poor example of good technology wasted because you can't guarantee the class of service for a home user. So now you have you Avaya up and running and it is virtually segmented for your call centres data connectivity. They all run through a core router at each site. The site I looked after always had 2 core 2 Avaya etc. for redundancy.

In order for the sound quality not to come out like crap, you prioritize VoIP or SIP traffic at the highest priority. Your security access system would be set to 2, CRM system to 3 email would be lowest etc. along those lines. Since the MPLS is simply one big chuck a pure bandwidth the network folks would do they rule takes based on your expected load, or potential usage. I is important to not that there really are not any bandwidth limits for the priority rules. There could be but that would defeat the purpose. So when the Avaya used to trunkout it took the vast portion of bandwidth to hold those calls and play the messages and such as it moved them through queue. Mean while it is a vicious circle because the users CRM connections to the back over are being impacted due to voice taken up all the available bandwidth.

So YES when they use the phone it runs over the same network we use just at a higher priority that puts our bandwidth in a queue status. An NO it is speculation.

And this is my last visit, I tried to inform an audience that is clearly frustrated, and to help alleviated individuals subject matter ignorance for people just like you that I'm replying to. So before you speculate and go on and on. Some of us know our shit, some of us work in the industry. But it was the first line where you irritated me.... you see back in the day I was a ham radio operator... and it's clear you never got past the CB stage...


This is simple to resolve: I used to work for them, managing the network and phone system, I know every person in that organization who has anything to do with phones or network, both corporate and subscriber net.
And I say with 100% confidence you are wrong my friend. Not so much about the technologies used in today's modern VoIP systems, but about the system that Xplornet uses because they really do use trunked T1s.
The phone traffic, does not, and I repeat DOES NOT touch the subscriber network in any way shape or form. It is entirely enveloped within the corporate network segment (which again, is separated by multiple firewalls from the subscriber network).
I know this to be a fact.
Now either come forward and identify yourself as an Xplornet employee, or take your shitty guess work and go elsewhere. These guys here have enough issues with the company without you adding fuel to the fires with incorrect information.

I know people come here to gripe, how do you think I landed here?? If there was any other option I would not choose Xplornet. However, if you're going to flame a company at least have your basic facts right beforehand.
I don't doubt what you know about phone systems and technology in place elsewhere, but you know nothing of the set up Xplornet uses.

A ham operator!?! WOW, can I have your autograph????
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-26-2014, 07:31 PM
Shjinta Shjinta is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 44
Default

Soooo out of all these massive walls of text does it tell me when we're actually going to get LTE in Ontario? 25mbps seems nice, but the 1mbps down is retarded..
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-26-2014, 08:13 PM
buttitchi buttitchi is offline
offline "Global Moderator" Retired
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 213
Default

A glance and looks like Xplornet had started/finished in New Brunswick, is moving into the big mess of Ontario for 2015/2016, along with the Prairies and then finish up in 2017.
Depends on what the priorities criteria is for who gets the fastest upgrade.

Calgary Alberta job listings show a LTE construction manager wanted.
Xplornet looking for a Construction Manager in the Calgary, Alberta region. Working from a home based office and reporting to the National Construction Manager, the successful candidate will build and/or oversee the construction of LTE sites, overlays and site upgrade activities on a regional basis.
__________________
Hi Diddly Ho, Good Neighborino

Last edited by buttitchi : 11-26-2014 at 08:23 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.