XplornetSUCKS  

Go Back   XplornetSUCKS > Hydro One Smart meters
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-01-2010, 09:10 PM
xplornetadmin xplornetadmin is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 585
Default Smart meters not so Smart

As posted in the xplornet wireless forums.. these new smart meters will interfere with everything on the 900-2.4 band!! So yes.. your xplornet service will suffer, or your meter won't work if xplornet service out does Hydro ones wireless network..

Did I say that hydro one has built the largest rural highspeed network in Ontario with your tax dollars, that now interferes with the federal governments rural broad band initiative handouts to companies like xplornet.. and now the two are interfering with each other causing NEITHER to work....

So much to complain about.. so little time..
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-28-2013, 09:11 AM
Trackman Trackman is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Brockville Ontario
Posts: 11
Default

I have been having trouble with the smart meter since xplornet was installed.
Hydro one is in complete denial of interference problems.

Xplornet installer told me the xplornet radio was on 2.4ghz and would switch to 3.5ghz when they had the licensing.

I talked to an xplornet rep yesterday. She was being helpful, but she wasn't sure about frequency's. Then she talked to someone and said I was on 3.5.
But she didn't sound real sure.

I notice the xpornet system is grounded to my hydro meter.
Probably doesn't matter. But who knows.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-28-2013, 03:19 PM
Brad R Brad R is offline
Linux Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Ontario
Posts: 605
Default

Re. the grounding, it's common for there to be a single grounding point where your hydro service enters the building. Xplornet will use that if available. It shouldn't make any difference re. interference.

About that -- I don't know much about the hydro meters, but if they're using the 2.4 GHz unlicenced frequencies, they may be in for headaches. These days it seems like everyone and his brother is using that spectrum. I've got half a dozen wireless devices in front of me right now that operate at 2.4 GHz, including my wireless router...and every day there are more. This is why it was a stupid idea for Xplornet ever to use 2.4 GHz in the first place (and why I was glad I could get 3.5 GHz service during the brief time I had it). So there's no need to look to Xplornet for interference issues.

Hydro has bungled this from day one, so it wouldn't surprise me to learn that they're having such problems.
__________________
4G Fixed Wireless Formerly Echostar 17 "Jupiter"; Rogers Rocket Hub; Everus 3.5 GHz Wireless; Telesat Kazam plan; HughesNet Ku.
A computer without Windows is like a chocolate cake without mustard. http://www.goodbyemicrosoft.net
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-28-2013, 03:46 PM
Trackman Trackman is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Brockville Ontario
Posts: 11
Default

Thanks for the reply Brad. I may try disabling the wireless on my router and see if the smart meter starts working again.

I can also put the xplornet radio on a timer to shut off at night.

But if the smart meter doesn't transmit at night, I won't learn anything.

It would be nice to know if the xplornet radio I have is capable of both 2.4 and 3.5.

As for xplornet, I went to their office here today. Turns out some other internet company is there now. Xplornet had bought out a local company called Ripnet. They sold Ripnets DSL and dialup business to this other company.
Then converted all Ripnets wireless customers to Xplornet.
The office I went to today only installs xplornet. They couldn't tell me anything about frequencys and do not deal directly with xplornet customers.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-28-2013, 04:23 PM
Trackman Trackman is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Brockville Ontario
Posts: 11
Default

Copy and paste from an article I found on-line.
This is the whole thing.
http://www.ve3ncq.ca/wordpress/?page_id=10


Thanks for posting this. Its good that the people of Ontario see how their airwaves are being abused.
We have sort of the same problem here with Hydro Ones smart meters. They are from a company called Trilliant and use 2.4G. The Trilliant meters also cause problems for consumer gear on the 2.4G spectrum. In our area 2.4 is occupied by the local wireless ISP and everyones wireless routers and some wireless phones. The meters are causing the wireless ISP signals to drop while the meters talk back to their access point. Hydro Ones response so far has be yeah so?
It galls me that these companies can be so ignorant of their responsibilities and when you call them on it their response is so what just move your gear to a different frequency. The wireless ISP is doing just that. Chased off the band by Hydro One they are investing in gear in the 3.5G band and hoping for some spectrum from the unused TV bands once the switch to digital TV takes place.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-28-2013, 05:48 PM
buttitchi buttitchi is offline
offline "Global Moderator" Retired
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 210
Default

The major problem is that a commercial company is using a frequency that was meant for consumer households.
But loopholes are loopholes and no one in government noticed years ago with the shit about to hit the fan as more companies used the frequency outside of a homes walls.

At least with meters using 900Mhz(for distance) there is less interference to attack the overloaded 2.4Ghz range.
The 5.8Ghz range will obviously be the next victim but with its short range issue it should survive longer.
__________________
Hi Diddly Ho, Good Neighborino

Last edited by buttitchi : 08-28-2013 at 06:19 PM. Reason: giga
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.