XplornetSUCKS  

Go Back   XplornetSUCKS > ViaSat1 Satellite Forum * (2012 satellite) *
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-16-2013, 08:37 PM
buttitchi buttitchi is offline
offline "Global Moderator" Retired
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 213
Default Viasat2 for mid 2016

ViaSat2 with some initial specs of 'if they can manage to pull it off, it will be wondrous'.


http://www.prnewswire.com/news-relea...207763821.html
Quote:
CARLSBAD, Calif., May 16, 2013 /PRNewswire/ -- ViaSat has executed a contract with Boeing to build ViaSat-2, which is based on ViaSat's next generation, Ka-band satellite technology and architecture. ViaSat-2 is expected to be, by far, the world's highest capacity satellite at the time of launch (scheduled for mid-2016) achieving an unparalleled mix of capacity and coverage. ViaSat-2 is anticipated to approximately double the bandwidth economics of ViaSat-1 while simultaneously increasing its coverage footprint by seven-fold.
Quote:
ViaSat-2 is expected to significantly improve the speed and availability of broadband services over a greatly expanded coverage area that includes North America, Central America, the Caribbean, a small portion of northern South America as well as the primary aeronautical and maritime routes across the Atlantic Ocean between North America and Europe.
Same information but different link.
http://www.viasat.com/news/viasat-an...band-satellite
__________________
Hi Diddly Ho, Good Neighborino
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-16-2013, 09:15 PM
buttitchi buttitchi is offline
offline "Global Moderator" Retired
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 213
Default

Hughesnet(Echostar) also has 2 satellites(of unknown capabilities at this time), to be launched around the same time.

http://www.echostar.com/NewsEvents/P...-C960905F6181}

http://www.echostar.com/NewsEvents/P...-9226B08EC9E9}
__________________
Hi Diddly Ho, Good Neighborino
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-21-2013, 06:32 PM
WantsHighSpeed WantsHighSpeed is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 3
Default

I hope it supports 4k resolution videos that take 120gb+ per movie stream. If not they should not even bother. Unlimited bandwidth ill cross my fingers.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.