XplornetSUCKS  

Go Back   XplornetSUCKS > Generic question forum (don't know where to post?)
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-02-2014, 04:34 PM
BrainDamage BrainDamage is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 4
Default Satellite signal meter

I live in very rural Northeastern Ontario and stuck with xplornet. If my dish gets out of adjustment I must call a tech 60k away who then charges $180.00 to come out and make a slight adjustment to the dish. I could do this myself if I had a proper meter. Can anyone here tell me what meter is used and where I can get one?

Additionally my internet service has been intermittent for over 2 weeks and Im getting quite frustrated with it. Apparently Galaxy can provide internet service in my area but from what I have read apparently they not only suck but cost even more per month. Xplornet truly sucks!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-02-2014, 05:34 PM
buttitchi buttitchi is offline
offline "Global Moderator" Retired
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 212
Default

This thread shows how to access the system center(modem) on a Hughesnet KA or Viasat1
http://www.xplornetsucks.com/forumss...read.php?t=620

Hughesnet echostar17 access url
http://www.xplornetsucks.com/forumss...?t=1493&page=2
__________________
Hi Diddly Ho, Good Neighborino

Last edited by buttitchi : 08-02-2014 at 05:44 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-02-2014, 09:44 PM
Brad R Brad R is offline
Linux Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Ontario
Posts: 606
Default

I don't know what meter they use, but if you have a Hughesnet system you can probably find answers on some of the U.S. Hughesnet forums. They have a lot more users there.
__________________
4G Fixed Wireless Formerly Echostar 17 "Jupiter"; Rogers Rocket Hub; Everus 3.5 GHz Wireless; Telesat Kazam plan; HughesNet Ku.
A computer without Windows is like a chocolate cake without mustard. http://www.goodbyemicrosoft.net
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-02-2014, 09:53 PM
Brad R Brad R is offline
Linux Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Ontario
Posts: 606
Default

Of possible interest:
How to Align a Satellite Dish Without a Meter
http://techchannel.radioshack.com/al...eter-1777.html

Those instructions are for a television satellite; for an Xplornet satellite you'll have to use the link buttitchi provided, to learn how to read the signal strength on the modem's control center.

Here's a whole bunch of satellite meters; I don't know which ones work with Xplornet/Hughesnet, and I don't know which are good and which are junk:
http://www.satpro.tv/Satellite-Finders.aspx
__________________
4G Fixed Wireless Formerly Echostar 17 "Jupiter"; Rogers Rocket Hub; Everus 3.5 GHz Wireless; Telesat Kazam plan; HughesNet Ku.
A computer without Windows is like a chocolate cake without mustard. http://www.goodbyemicrosoft.net
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.