XplornetSUCKS  

Go Back   XplornetSUCKS > ViaSat2 Satellite Forum *approx Sept 2017*
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-26-2014, 08:50 PM
buttitchi buttitchi is offline
offline "Global Moderator" Retired
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 212
Arrow ViaSat2

ViaSat2,
for those suffering on the AnikF2.
Or suffering due to no spots available for new users in the old beam only zones.


http://www.spacenews.com/article/sat...adband-markets
Quote:
The satellite’s coverage area extends east to the border of Britain and includes much of the Caribbean to the south. Under construction by Boeing Space and Intelligence Systems of El Segundo, Calif., as part of a $358 million contract, ViaSat-2 is scheduled for launch in mid-2016.

ViaSat-2 will have about double the capacity of the existing ViaSat-1, whose total throughput of about 140 gigabits per second already makes it the highest-throughput satellite in orbit, along with competitor Hughes Network Systems’ Jupiter 1 satellite. Both were built by Space Systems Loral (SSL) of Palo Alto, Calif.
Quote:
ViaSat-2’s coverage area will be seven times as large as ViaSat-1’s for about double the total throughput, according to ViaSat. Its Atlantic Ocean footprint will bring it into maritime and aeronautical markets that are now hotly pursued by other satellite operators in C- and Ku- as well as Ka-band. All are pursuing oil and gas production installations as well as commercial, civil and military maritime and aeronautical customers.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg ViaSat2coverage.jpg (12.9 KB, 8 views)
__________________
Hi Diddly Ho, Good Neighborino
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-15-2014, 03:00 PM
buttitchi buttitchi is offline
offline "Global Moderator" Retired
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 212
Default

Xplornet buys all Canadian capacity on ViaSat2

https://www.viasat.com/news/xplornet...at-2-satellite
Quote:
Xplornet Communications Inc. has contracted with ViaSat Inc. (NASDAQ:VSAT) for all of the residential capacity covering Canada on the ViaSat-2 satellite. Already offering high-speed satellite Internet on ViaSat-1, Xplornet will be able to offer faster speeds and more data throughput for its customers with the doubling of bandwidth efficiency expected from ViaSat-2, which is scheduled for a mid-2016 launch. The commitment is for the life of the satellite and the value is up to $275 million depending on options.
__________________
Hi Diddly Ho, Good Neighborino
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-16-2014, 06:27 AM
Brad R Brad R is offline
Linux Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Ontario
Posts: 606
Default

My goodness, Xplornet does seem to be rolling in cash.
__________________
4G Fixed Wireless Formerly Echostar 17 "Jupiter"; Rogers Rocket Hub; Everus 3.5 GHz Wireless; Telesat Kazam plan; HughesNet Ku.
A computer without Windows is like a chocolate cake without mustard. http://www.goodbyemicrosoft.net
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-09-2014, 09:06 PM
xplornetFiveMEG xplornetFiveMEG is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 56
Default

Christ! I had no idea that those satellites had so much capacity. 280gb/35GB/s capacity. hot damn. And that Xplornet is buy all the canadian capacity. I knew they were ripping us off, but that much money, hot damn.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.