XplornetSUCKS  

Go Back   XplornetSUCKS > Bell turbo hub forum
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-12-2011, 10:03 AM
Fred Hill Fred Hill is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 18
Default Bell Versus Rogers Hub

I've had the Rogers' hub for 1 year now and basically, the service is getting worst by the month. Congestion appears to be the problem. Rogers has advised the tower in my area needs works but I can't get a firm date when this will occur.

Bell was having the same issues last fall but they have done the work and added their equipment to another tower. I used the Sticky link provided in the Rogers forum.

Last evening around 630 pm I had the chance to test both the Rogers and Bell hub. The Bell definitely out performed the Rogers. We did a simple test, went to TESTMY.NET and downloaded a 3 Meg file.

Bell - 3 Meg file - average speed was 155 KB/s taking about 33 seconds
Rogers - 3 Meg file - average speed was 20 KB/s taking over 2 minutes or 120 seconds.

We surfed to a few webpages and my DU Meter program was showing speeds between 150 and 250 KB/s compared to Rogers 15 to 30KB/s.

During the test, I was actually surprised that I was able to get even connected with Rogers as over the past month, any time after 3pm connectivity is a gamble easily taking 1 to 1.5 hours to gain access for 1 to 2 minutes.

I'd love to switch to Bell since it works but that would mean canceling Rogers and having to pay the FEE and I wonder how long before Bell's traffic starts to bog down?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-23-2011, 08:20 AM
fasteddy2 fasteddy2 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Belleville, ON
Posts: 133
Default

In the long run they both will eventually balance out due to increased subscriptions, or equipment upgrades. I'd suggest you review the signal strength of both units over the course of a day. Which ever one supplies a greater signal strength over a longer period of time would be the better choice (IMHO).

I'm currently working with a client who has the Bell Turbo Hub and has terrible connection issues. Working with Bell support yesterday they did not have a clear solution and are continuing to investigate. I suspect a signal strength issue since my Bell Blackberry only shows 2-3 bars. I'm going to borrow a Rogers stick for a trial run since the client's Rogers cell phone show continuous full bars.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.