XplornetSUCKS  

Go Back   XplornetSUCKS > Generic question forum (don't know where to post?)
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-09-2016, 10:50 AM
satron satron is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 18
Default Xplornet phone service

We signed up for Xplornet phone service - but just went back to Bell. Reason - poor sound quality - particularly for the person we were talking to. Strange since we have the LTE 25Mb service, which should have had decent quality. But when calling close relatives we had to identify ourselves since the voice quality was so poor that they didn't recognize us right off.

Anyone use other VOIP services successfully with Xplornet's LTE internet service?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-10-2016, 04:07 PM
buttitchi buttitchi is offline
offline "Global Moderator" Retired
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 212
Default

Depending on your hardware and connection:

In your router, disable Sip Alg, as Sip Alg can sometimes interfere with with the protocols of VOIP. And since Xplornet is running a double NAT (your router + their tower) SIP can get confused. If Xplornet does not provide a static internet routed ip address, they generally provide a local area network ip address something like 192.168.1.*** Which is double NAT https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Private_network

There are various codecs, like G.711 and G.729 , that are used for call quality.

Some people will set QOS in their router to ensure other communications don't take away bandwidth from VOIP. Not really necessary though unless your speed really sucks.


No need to port forward, as the VOIP ATA (analogue telephone adapter or softphone) should be able to communicate on it's own.

Never expose a VOIP adapter direct to the internet, as it can be vulnerable to hacking. It is somewhat safe behind a router firewall, without ports forwarded/opened.

I've used Voip.ms on wireless ISP double NAT before (not on Xplornet) without problems. With an Obihai (200 model and allows for 4 VOIP numbers), that is also tweaked to remove vulnerabilities (SIP calls from direct Internet dialed only https://wiki.voip.ms/article/SIP_URI ) and disabling remote updates/admin by Obihai. The Obi200 can be configured 100% locally and there is no need to create an account at Obihai and using its portal to configure the Obi.

Article on hardware settings from Voip.ms
https://wiki.voip.ms/article/Devices
https://wiki.voip.ms/article/Softphones
__________________
Hi Diddly Ho, Good Neighborino

Last edited by buttitchi : 07-10-2016 at 04:28 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-14-2016, 02:43 PM
satron satron is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 18
Default

Thanks for the information Buttitchi. We have switched back to Bell regular landline (something that I didn't want to do) and it is really remarkable how much better the sound quality is on the fixed Bell line.
Unfortunately, we switched back before I had the opportunity to try out your suggestions. But would they have fixed a blurry sound?

Note that we have 25Mb LTE service on Xplornet - which is normally quite good. I use Skype a lot - and the sound quality on those calls is perfectly fine. It was only their VOIP service that had the bad sound quality - particularly on local calls (ie on the same exchange that we are on).
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-14-2016, 08:20 PM
buttitchi buttitchi is offline
offline "Global Moderator" Retired
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 212
Default

Dependent on how Xplornet is hosting the VOIP (in-house or outsourced) they may not be willing to fix things.

If I recall, all Xplornet customer traffic on the wireless tower systems goes to New Brunswick first, then back to the internet. So your local call, may have travelled many miles and across various network switches.
With VOIP.ms I no longer dial the 1 for long distance. Everything to me in North America outgoing is a local call. Since you can specify the VOIP exchange (Toronto, Vancouver, etc), as long as your internet provider is not doing some funky routing, you can choose the VOIP server with less milli second delay from your ISP last hop to the VOIP exchange.

DSLreports VOIP forum https://www.dslreports.com/forum/voip

That all in one router, http://enterprise.zte.com.cn/en/prod...18_422573.html with built in ATA (analogue telephone adapter), I do hate all in ones. They are used to take away control from the idiot end user, but also include a backdoor (TR-069) for remote servicing of at times everything.
https://wiki.openwrt.org/toh/zte/h298n 400Mhz CPU and the lowest cost of parts. Apparently being used for fiber customers in some countries in Europe, and if they also have IPTV, it may have problems with more than a couple of multicast streams, with that slow single core processor.

VOIP (ATA) chip details. G.711 Codec seems to be a non-changeable. So any network problems may cause an issue. G.729 may give a better call as it can deal better with packet loss.
PDF http://www.microsemi.com/document-po...-product-brief

Sounds of call issues. Not much in a way for actual solutions, but does give great examples.
https://www.cisco.com/c/en/us/suppor...-symptoms.html

Silly Xplornet, your zte zxhn h298n install video is a classic example of double NAT and actually is triple NAT counting your tower system. Maybe just sell a standalone ATA instead, and have it preprogrammed with the Xplornet VOIP credentials. The customer then just needs to now how to disable Sip Alg on their own router.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Lg72H4rf2mA
__________________
Hi Diddly Ho, Good Neighborino

Last edited by buttitchi : 07-14-2016 at 09:18 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-05-2016, 05:57 AM
ret ret is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 64
Default

http://www.rogers.com/consumer/wirel...ess-home-phone

Here is where I landed. The system is only available if you are not in an area where Rogers landline exists. The system uses cell phone towers so make sure one is nearby. The price can't be beat. I fed a line to my house demarcation point and activated all the lines in the house. The system is portable so slip some batteries in it and take it with you to the cottage. I bought when it came into existence so my monthly is $28.24 taxes in and reception from Ontario to BC and everywhere else is remarkably close to that of a landline. And no internet is used. My previous voip ate up 8 GB monthly. Not anymore.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.